Barrio Gotico GOT

So I had my very own GOT “Game of thrones” experience walking through Barcelona’s Gothic quarter recently…Oh my word it was so cool!!

According to wikipaedia…The Gothic Quarter (Spanish: Barrio GΓ³tico) is the center of the old city of Barcelona. It stretches from La Rambla to Via Laietana, and from the Mediterranean seafront to Ronda de Sant Pere. It is a part of Ciutat Vella district. (an absolute must see!) The quarter was built primarily in the late 19th and early 20th century, though several buildings date from medieval times. Remains of the squared Roman Wall can be seen around Tapineria and Sots-Tinent Navarro ….The Barri GΓ²tic retains a labyrinthine street plan, with many small streets opening out into squares. Most of the quarter is closed to regular traffic although open to service vehicles and taxis.

As I walked onto the piazza in front of the Gothic Cathedral there was a crowd of people and a drumming band marching on the square, people flying flags high and an atmosphere of celebration. For me? You really shouldn’t have Barcelona! Actually it was to celebrate st George’s day on 23 April – St George’s Day is a time for giving books, roses and other gifts to loved ones. So lots of little kids walking around with red roses πŸ‘πŸ‘ I felt so lucky to have this experience!

One passage, or as we say on the cape flats- gangechie leads to a square…and that square leads to another gangetjie and another courtyard. And its cold, dark in places and windy…i had the sniffles and all around you these medieval buildings and high stone walls. Artists of all kinds love these spaces which have amazing acoustics and atmosphere. It felt like I was in the North (GOT) and winter was coming for reals. In one gangetjie I found a dude blowing massive bubbles…so cool to see the bubbles floating up into the blue sky. Kinda surreal cos it was completely out of place. Although finding John Snow walking out of any of those alleys would have been completely normal. πŸ˜‰

In another gangetjie there was a celloist (? spelling) which happens to be my favourite instrument…cos who doesnt smaak ‘n outjie with a big instrument right? 😁😁 πŸ™ˆThe music he played was spine chillingly beautiful…I felt like Daenerys Targaryen – mother of dragons sans the dragons! I would have skrikked my moer off if I had to see any dragons flying over any of those squares.

Luckily I had a map to find my way around the passages and courtyards. Jinne I thought “Sistah E you wont walk down dark alleys on the cape flats ma kyk nou vir jou hie in Barcelona…just because dodgy is called “gothic”. 😁😁😁

The cathedral itself was just jaw dropping. The size, the detail, the presence of it. I so much wanted to see the inside…but again the queue was insane so I just enjoyed the view and people watching and my GoT moment. Must go back…so much more to see.

Leave a Reply

